Farish, Beck prevail in run-off voting to fill Breeders’ Cup Board

Edited release:

The Breeders’ Cup announced Wednesday the final composition of its Board of Directors upon the completion of run-off voting by the 45 Breeders’ Cup Members. Current Breeders’ Cup chairman Bill Farish earned the most votes and will serve a four-year term while Bobby Flay will serve a one-year term on the Board.


Antony Beck received the most votes over Bruce Lunsford to fill the remaining one-year term.  At the Annual Meeting last week, Barbara Banke and Dan Pride were elected to the Board, and Elliott Walden was re-elected. All three will serve four-year terms.


Following the election, the Board of 14 Directors is as follows: Barbara Banke; Stonestreet Stables;   Antony Beck, Gainesway Farm; William S. Farish, Jr., (Chairman), Lane’s End Farm; Bobby Flay, Chef andRestaurateur; Craig Fravel, President & CEO of the Breeders’ Cup; Roy Jackson, Lael Stables; Bret Jones, Airdrie Stud; Tom Ludt, President,Santa Anita Park;  Clem Murphy, Coolmore Stud; Bill Oppenheim, Journalist and Pedigree Consultant; Dan Pride, Darley;  J. David Richardson, M.D., Chief of Surgery, University of Louisville; Elliott Walden, WinStar Farm and Barry Weisbord, Thoroughbred Daily News/Trakus.