Semi-finalists announced for Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award

Edited release:

A total of seven books have been chosen as semi-finalists for the seventh annual Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award to be presented at Castleton Lyons on April 10.


Conceived and launched in 2006 by the late Castleton Lyons owner Dr. Tony Ryan, the Award has annually showcased the best of racing literature. Originally known as the Castleton Lyons Book Award, the name was changed to honor its founder, who passed away in 2007. Dr. Ryan’s son Shane has carried on the contest each spring since.


Castleton Lyons previously conducted it book award contest in conjunction with Thoroughbred Times magazine, one of the leading industry publications before folding this past September.


The winner of the 2012 Book Award will be announced at Castleton Lyons during a cocktail reception held in a room above the farm’s historic stallion barn.  First prize is $10,000, with $1,000 awarded to each runner-up. In addition, all three finalists will receive a Tipperary Crystal trophy. Following are the finalists for the 2012 Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award:



Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award semi-finalists

(alphabetical order)


Flying Change: A Year of Racing and Family and Steeplechasing

Author: Patrick Smithwick

Publisher: Chesapeake Publishing


Kentucky Derby Dreams: The Making of Thoroughbred Champions

Author: Susan Nusser

Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books


My Year of the Racehorse 

Author: Kevin Chong

Publisher: Greystone Books


Racing From Death

Author: Sasscer Hill

Publisher: Wildside Press


The Garrett Gomez Story: A Jockey’s Journey Through Addiction and Salvation       

Author: Rudolph  Alvarado, with Garrett Keith Gomez

Publisher: Caballo Press of Ann Arbor


The Kentucky Derby: How the Run for the Roses Became America’s Premier

Sporting Event 

Author: James C. Nicholson

Publisher: The University Press of Kentucky


When Racing Was Racing – A Century of Horse Racing

Author: Adam Powley

Publisher: Haynes Publishing