Wise Dan leads list of Eclipse Award finalists

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers And Broadcasters today announced the finalists for 2012 Eclipse Awards, recognizing excellence in Thoroughbred racing. Winners in all 17 horse and human categories will be announced at the 42nd annual Eclipse Awards, presented by Daily Racing Form, The Stronach Group and the Breeders’ Cup on Saturday evening, January 19 at the Gulfstream Park in Hallandale Beach, Fla.


Of the 272 eligible voters representing the NTRA, Daily Racing Form, and the NTWAB, 254 individuals (93.38%) took part in this year’s voting. Finalists were determined in each category by voters’ top three selections, using a 10-5-1 point system. Eclipse Award winners are determined solely by first place votes.


The 2012 Eclipse Awards finalists (in alphabetical order) are:


Two-Year-Old Male:               Shanghai Bobby, Uncaptured, Violence

Two-Year-Old Filly:                Beholder, Dreaming of Julia, Executiveprivilege

Three-Year-Old Male:             Bodemeister, I’ll Have Another, Union Rags

Three-Year-Old Filly:              Believe You Can, My Miss Aurelia, Questing (GB)

Older Male:                            Fort Larned, Little Mike, Wise Dan

Older Female:                       Groupie Doll, Include Me Out, Royal Delta

Male Sprinter:                       The Lumber Guy, Shackleford, Trinniberg

 Female Sprinter:                   Contested, Groupie Doll, Mizdirection

Male Turf Horse:                    Little Mike, Point of Entry, Wise Dan,

Female Turf Horse:                Marketing Mix, Tapitsfly, Zagora (FR)

Steeplechase Horse:              Demonstrative, Divine Fortune, Pierrot Lunaire

Horse of the Year                   Fort Larned, I’ll Have Another, Wise Dan

Owner:                                   Godolphin Racing LLC, Midwest Thoroughbreds, Inc.,

Reddam Racing LLC

Breeder:                                 Adena Springs, Darley, Brereton C. Jones         

Trainer:                                   Bob Baffert, Todd Pletcher, Dale Romans

Jockey:                                  Javier Castellano, Ramon Dominguez, John Velazquez

Apprentice Jockey:                Jose Montano, Irad Ortiz, Jr., Angel Suarez