Fan vote launched for 2012 Horse of the Year

Daily Racing Form (DRF), Breeders’ Cup and the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) announced today the launch of the 2012 Eclipse Horse of the Year Fan Vote Sweepstakes. The free-to-enter sweepstakes requires fans to select the horse they feel deserves to win the 2012 Horse of the Year Award, which will be announced Saturday, January 19, 2013, at the 42st annual Eclipse Awards ceremony at Gulfstream Park Racetrack in Hallandale Beach, Fla.


Fans are also encouraged to cast their votes in a host of other Eclipse Award categories. All voters will be entered in a random drawing for a trip for two—including airfare, hotel accommodations, ground transportation and event tickets—to January’s Eclipse Awards ceremony, plus reserved seats and VIP access for a day of racing at Gulfstream Park.


Voting is available at and will continue until 3:00 p.m. (ET) on January 3, 2013. The prize winner will be drawn on or about January 4. Following the close of voting, but prior to the Eclipse Awards, DRF, Breeders’ Cup and the NTRA will release the fans’ top choices in each Eclipse Award category, including Horse of the Year. The sweepstakes is open to U.S. and Canadian (excluding those in the province of Quebec) residents.  For official rules, visit


Actual Eclipse Award voting takes place among designated representatives of the NTRA, DRF and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters. Eclipse Awards are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. Awards also are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.


The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.


The Eclipse Awards are presented by Daily Racing Form, The Stronach Group and Breeders’ Cup and produced by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA). Official Partners of the Eclipse Awards include Adequan, Besilu Stables, Keeneland, Kendall-Jackson, NOA Watches and Roberts Communications. The official hotel of the Eclipse Awards is the Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa.


Tickets to the Eclipse Awards are available for $375 each. Order forms for tickets are available at. Hotel Reservations at the Westin Diplomat can be made at For additional information, please contact Michele Ravencraft of the NTRA at